Dacorum Community Safety Partnership


Community Safety Partnerships (CSPs) were set up as statutory bodies at district and unitary local authority level under the Crime and Disorder Act 1998. The responsible authorities are required to work together to develop and implement strategies to protect their local communities from crime and to help people feel safe. This includes developing local approaches to deal with issues such as anti-social behaviour, drug or alcohol abuse, domestic abuse and re-offending. In doing so, they work in partnership with a range of other local public, private, community and voluntary groups and with the wider community.

Community Safety Partnerships are required to prepare a partnership plan informed by an annual joint strategic assessment.

The Dacorum Community Safety Partnership has statutory duty to ensure the Community Safety Partnership (CSP) works together to make the community safer, reduce crime and the fear of crime, reduce anti-social behaviour and work with business and residents on the issues of most concern.

The partnership is made up of statutory and non-statutory partners who work together to ensure that crime and disorder is dealt with positively and proportionately.

Statutory authorities within the partnership are:

  • Dacorum Borough Council
  • Hertfordshire Constabulary
  • Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue
  • West Herts Clinical Commissioning Group
  • BeNCH Community Rehabilitation Company (CRC)
  • Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner (co-operating body)

Non-statutory partners within the partnership are:

  • YC Herts
  • Hightown Housing Association
  • CGL - Change, Grow, Live.
  • SASH formerly YOTs
  • DENS
  • Trading Standards
  • HCC Road Safety unit
  • West Herts College
  • Neighbourhood Watch
  • Hemel Hempstead Town Centre Bid Management

Governance structure

As a partnership it is essential that partners remain in regular contact with each other, meeting regularly to discuss concerns, emerging issues, key hot spots, crime trends and to monitor the strategic priorities through the partnership action plan.

Dacorum has a number of fixed groups that meet on a regular basis to ensure that work within the Community Safety Partnership is progressing. The groups are split into three tiers - RAOG (Responsible Authorities Officers Group), JAG (Joint Action Group) and CSAG (Community Safety Action Group).  

For a more detailed description of  the role that each group plays within the partnership, please see the  Dacorum Community Safety Partnership Governance Structure (PDF 393KB).

Warning signCoronavirus (COVID-19): We continue to provide services online and via telephone. However, we recognise that, in some cases, you will need an appointment with an officer so we offer limited pre-booked appointments at the Forum for urgent enquiries. You may experience longer waiting times or an online response due to increased demand on our services. Please call 01442 228000 and ask for the service you require. For council service updates and other advice, please see our COVID-19 page×